Load WordPress Sites in as fast as 37ms!

How to Delete a User in WordPress Website?

The tools and plugins recommend in the site are the ones we use, have tried or tested ourselves and recommend to our readers. Marketing With WP is supported by readers like yourself. If you take an action (such as a purchase) we might earn an affiliate revenue at no extra cost to you.

In this guide, we will go over deleting a WordPress user. First, we will go through the steps to delete a single user, and then we will cover how to delete multiple users in bulk.

Deleting a Single User

Step 1) Go to WordPress Users Dashboard

To delete a WordPress user, first, go to Users > All Users. It will take you to the page containing a list of all the users on your website.

access wordpress all users dashboard
Access WordPress All Users dashboard

Step 2) Delete User

After that, hover over the name of the user that you want to delete. Then, click on the Delete link you see below it.

wordpress delete users click on delete
Hover over the name of the user and click delete

Step 3) Confirm User Deletion

It will ask for your final confirmation for deleting the user. So, go ahead and click on Confirm Deletion.

wordpress click on confirm user deletion
Click Confirm Deletion

It will redirect you back to the Users page with a notice of successful deletion.

wordpress delete users delete successful notice
WordPress user deleted notificaiton

Deleting Multiple Users in Bulk

If you have a website with a relatively bigger list of users that need to be deleted, the bulk delete action will come in handy.

Step 1) Go to WordPress Users Dashboard

Go to Users > All Users. It will take you to the page containing a list of all the users on your website.

Step 2) Select Users to be Deleted

So, On the All Users page, just select the checkbox for each user you want to delete. This will select the users to apply the bulk delete action.

wordpress delete user select the users to delete
Select multiple users to enable bulk delete

Step 3) Delete Users

After you have selected, click on the Bulk Actions dropdown and select Delete. After that, click on the Apply button next to it.

wordpress delete users select delete and apply
On the Bulk Actions drop down, select Delete option

Step 4) Confirm User Deletion

Like before, it will ask you to confirm it. So, just go on with it by clicking the Confirm Deletion button.

wordpress delete users confirm bulk users deletion
Click Confirm Deletion

The success alert you see on the next page confirms if they are deleted successfully.

wordpress bulk user delete success notice
WordPress Bulk Users Deletion success message
Ankit S J B Rana

Ankit S J B Rana

Ankit S J B Rana is a marketing enthusiast originally from the Himalayas of Nepal and currently based out of Bangkok, Thailand.

He is currently the Marketing Director at Mbrella Films and Filma.io

Marketing With WP is Ankit's blog full of marketing insights to turn your website into a 24 hour marketing machine.

Articles: 160